top of page
Search

Negotiations




What’s good, 40?


I‘ve seen you creeping for some time. Hiding around corners and sneaking in the shadows. I’ve heard your whispers, and I thought that you were one shady character To approach me like that. Downright disrespectful! Not a good look, homey.


But, I have to say, you’ve come with lots of recommendations. People said that I should give you a try. Some people said that you provided the best years of their lives so far. Others said that they felt a confidence that they had never felt before. Others, still, said that you were not the enemy, that I should not be apprehensive about meeting you, but rather that I should embrace you like an old friend. Even my wife gave you a glowing recommendation, and if I am honest, I have seen the change in her since you both began walking together.


So, I’m willing to give you a chance. (Not like I really have a choice.) But before we go any further on this road to self actualization, I have some conditions that you will have to abide by if our partnership is to be fruitful. First, I’m expecting great things. I really thought that you would come out into the light with a full orchestra, or some other exuberant celebratory welcome, but you didn’t. That’s strike one. Or maybe it is just because I have such wide expectations for milestones. Hmm...maybe I shouldn’t blame you for that one. I’ll let you know what the jury decides. But I want big things this decade. I want to see myself as someone who has been in the fire and learned some things. I want to become the man who takes the risk and the chance. And while I know that much of that depends on me, since you’re here, I figured that I would hold you to the same expectations. I mean, you chose to come along. (Also not factual. You’re just following the law of God.) Still. Here’s the thing, 40, I am the kind of person who craves bigness. I accept that about myself. I want big experiences. I want big successes. And that craving for bigness sometimes leads to big failures, but I can accept that. What I will no longer accept in myself is not trying. Not going after things. So, big things. Still with me?


Ok. Next, I’m expecting a sense of confidence that I have never had before. Maybe you call it swagger. Whatever the correct vernacular is, I want it. I’ve seen it in my wife. I’ve seen it in other people. I want it. By the contract that I have drawn up, you have a certain amount of time to provide it, or I can legally ask for my money back.


Finally, and this is from the bottom of my heart, I want this decade to be about praying BIG like I’m depending on God, and working BIG like I’m depending on me. I understand that my faith has to increase in order to experience big things. I have to say YES to more than I say NO to (Within reason). I have to trust God with my life from moment to moment in order to fulfill the BIG things that I sense on the horizon. So, I’m willing to be stretched. I’m willing to be challenged. I’m willing to cry the tears. I’ll face the frustrations. I’ll fight through the mud and pain. But in return, I’m asking that you remind me daily that life is for LIVING. I never want to stop living. Help me to remember every moment that there is something new to see, to witness, to testify to, and to thank God for. If you can help me do that, then I know that this next 10 years is going to be some of the best times of my life till now.


So...


Can I count on you?


Do we have a deal?


Shake on it?


Cool beans. Well, 40, it’s officially nice to meet you. I thinK this is the beginning of a brilliant companionship.


Let’s get it. Let’s make this LEGENDARY!!


Chapter 40 is a GO!!!!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page